Alyth is an ancient Scottish town that boasts the Parish Church, designed by Thomas Hamilton.
Built in 1839. the high spire is Alyth parish church's most striking feature, Alyth church is also well known for the Pictish standing stone in the porch.
Alyth however has been the site of a Christian presence since the 6th century through a contemporary of St Columba named St Moluag. The picture below is part of the old sacristy of the Pre-reformation Church of Alyth which was dedicated to St Moluag of Lismore. It has been said that in 1326 Robert the Bruce came to do an act of worship within its walls.
The packhorse bridge is a more recent structure that was used to cross the Queich or (Alyth Burn).
The bridge was built in about 1500 and is still in use today
It's believed by many scholars that Queen Guinevere was imprisoned at Barry Hill, Alyth by the Pictish King Mordred.
According to local tradition, Guinevere was abducted by the Pictish King Mordred and when returned to Arthur after this enforced infidelity, arthur sentenced Vanora to be torn apart by wild beasts and ordered her remains to be buried at Meigle.
Tradition also links this ancient town with the nine maidens, St Fink or Fincana is well known in the town granted a Charter by King James III in 1488.
A golf club was established in Alyth in 1894. The original 9-hole course was designed by the Old Tom Morris of St Andrews and was later modified and extended to 18 holes by James Braid (1934). A further two clubs have opened since then, the Strathmore Golf Centre (1986) with an 18 and a 9 hole course and the Glenisla Club (1992).
(wickpedia) Anyone visiting "Alyth" will recieve the warmest of welcome in this historic Scottish Town, the few photographs below are intended to show a little of the town, but a visit is highly recommended.